Login |  Register

Post subject: Chapter 2 Box Help - Can't follow instructions?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:48 pm 
I'm stuck on the first task. Does not bode well. My problem is that I can't follow the instructions. I am a beginner, but I learn pretty quick, usually.

My issue so far is I am doing a lot of stuff without understanding why (I hope it is explained later - such as why I created a UVW map and then collapsed it which appeared to remove it...)

I am using the student version of 2012, so that might explain some differences.

Anyway, the instructions say, on page 22

"To keep this tutorial simple, I have already prepared the texture maps that you’ll be using from photographs. Later on in the book, we will discuss creating textures from photographs and applying them to models.
To add the textures into the Material Editor, select the material ID from the vertical list and load in the texture map for each side of the box. Although there are 10 materials displayed in the editor, we’ll just use the first six listed: Material #2 through Material #7 in my case. Yours could have different names, depending on how you have used 3ds Max previously. Don’t worry if your names don’t match mine at this point, as they can be renamed."

What is what here? I see a picture, figure 2.8, directly above this, but it relates to an earlier task which I did (changing the standard thing to multi/sub).

He says he has prepared the texture maps from photographs? I assume they are the JPG files of the box. So why does he say load the texture map for each side of the box when this is later on with loading the bitmaps? Where do I select the material ID? How do I assign a texture map. Also, what is the "Show Standard Map in Viewport" button. It is not in mine, nor is it in the pictures he provdes. Also, the image for the icon looks like an earlier version of 3dsmax (2009 maybe?), since it is a grey button not black.